If you're involved in a Utah vehicle accident you must stop at the scene of the accident. If there has been an injury or death of any person OR property damage in the amount of $1,000.00 or more, you must call the police.
If a vehicle that you own is involved in a Utah vehicle accident and the person driving was physically incapable of making an accident report, then you as the owner of the vehicle are required to, within 15 days after becoming aware of the accident, make the accident report.
You are required to give to any person involved in the Utah vehicle accident your: name, address and registration number of the vehicle you're operating and to show them your driver's license if asked for. Be sure to also get the insurance information of the person/s who caused the accident.
If the person does not stop, do your very best to safely get the license number of the vehicle. Today, more and more drivers are going without insurance. If such a person causes a Utah vehicle accident, and he/she is unable to buy insurance, he/she is likely unable to provide any money for your injuries or damage to your property. You'll then have to rely on your own uninsured motorist coverage. Be sure you have adequate insurance of this kind.
Both drivers must identify themselves to each other, after a Utah vehicle accident. Likewise, identify all passengers and witnesses.
You will need:
Their names, addresses and phone numbers
Make a diagram of the accident, showing the positions of the vehicles before, during, and after impact. Measure skid marks (if possible), note the positions of traffic lights and street signs, estimate the respective driving speeds, and record details about the weather and road conditions
If possible, have photographs taken of the accident scene and of any damage or injury from the vehicle accident
Do not admit any fault for the vehicle accident
Do not volunteer information or comment on the accident
Do not sign any pieces of paper nor agree to pay for damages
You should, however, cooperate with police officers investigating the case. You must sign traffic tickets - but this in itself is not an admission of guilt or wrongdoing..
You must take an alcohol test if requested, after a Utah vehicle accident, or risk losing your license for one year.
Advise the officer of basic facts, without adding personal comments or interpretations
As soon after the accident as possible, it would be a good idea to be checked out by a doctor. Even if there are no initial signs of pain, there might have been damage to the neck or spine.
Sometimes people get injured in a vehicle accident but because those injuries don't always show up immediately, they don't seek medical treatment promptly. If a short time after the accident, you or one of your passengers develop pain in the neck or back or you feel you're suffering from a mental or emotional disability caused by injuries to the head, see a doctor.
If you have a head injury, you may need to see a neurologist. At the very least consult a chiropractor with respect to back and neck injuries.
If your injuries cause permanent injury, or you have medical expenses in excess of $3,000.00, you are entitled to file a claim for pain and suffering against the person at fault. The law permits you to recover damages (money) for pain and suffering and loss of enjoyment of life, etc.
Shortly after a vehicle accident you will likely be contacted by a claims adjustor from your own or another person's insurance company. Be careful. If you feel you have no injuries at the time and tell that to the adjustor, and later on it develops that you had injuries that you were unaware of, (this is very common in whiplash cases,) the adjustor is sure to bring it up, and remind you of it, in an effort to keep the settlement as low as possible.
Contact your insurance company, to inform them of the vehicle accident. You may want to talk to an attorney at this time to clarify your rights and discuss questions of liability.